English Phrase of the Week: Between a rock and a hard place

If I leave my job now, I will have trouble finding a new one, but if I don’t, I will stay the same and not advance myself. I’m between a rock and a hard place. :((

Learn with See to English

Here is this week’s mini English lesson.

201531ROCK-page001

The phrase of the week is “between a rock and a hard place”

Here are some examples:

I don’t know what to do. I’m between a rock and a hard place. If I lie to Mary, she will be upset, but if I don’t, I’ll ruin the surprise.

If you leave your job, you will have trouble finding a new one, but if you don’t you will have to take a 60% paycut. You’re between a rock and a hard place.

Can you guess what it means?

It means that someone is in a difficult situation, and both or all of their choices are not pleasant. Whatever that person decides to do, it is not an easy decision.

Can you think of any other phrases in English that use the word rock?

View original post

Leave a Reply

